Zentraveler on I am!

Zentravelers I Am


These two small words I AM are loaded with mystery, history, religion, and mysticism. In Popeye’s version he says: “I am what I am.” which can mean many things. In religious circles god instructed Jesus to say simply I am –therefore there is no need for anymore clarity.

As we apparently mature some move from the me, me, me, state to the service state, others continue whining and ask the question… what is in it for me?

If you listen to almost any two-way conversation around the world you will hear people say: I climbed a mountain, I own a BMW car, I won an award, I am the best pool player, I am… and therefore your identity is tied to your I am!
I am a race car driver, I am a computer programmer. I am a nerd! I am a politican….I am.

The more philosophical questions is: are you really I am or just a carbon copy of the supreme being. If so you are really a surrogate representative of the supreme being and I am only states you exist.

In revealing his mysterious name, (“I AM HE WHO IS”, “I AM WHO AM” or “I AM WHO I AM”), God says who he is and by what name he is to be called. This divine name is mysterious just as God is mystery. It is at once a name revealed and something like the refusal of a name, and hence it better expresses God as what he is – infinitely above everything that we can understand or say: he is the “hidden God”, his name is ineffable, and he is the God who makes himself close to men.

In the recent movie: “I am” the director asks the question: “What’s wrong with our world?” and “what can we do it about it!” He took a movie production team of four and sought out Spiritual leaders to find out How we can improve the world and the way we live in it. Food for thought!

Try going the whole day from waking to going to sleep without using the word I am with your voice.If you are able to do this nearly impossible task.Try thinking the whole day without using the mental thought voice (inner voice) without using the word I. If you can do this you are beginning to understand your ego. The ego feeds on i’s.

“I AM A BUDDHIST …I write these words with a great deal of serenity and satisfaction. This glorious, ancient practice has helped to bring clarity to my heart in ways that I still cannot comprehend. For me, it is but the logical progression of a person who has embraced the tenants of an ephemeral, yet, ever-powerful movement called Voluntary Simplicity.If Voluntary Simplicity is my destination, Buddhism is my roadmap. I simply am!”

So there you have it! Two of the simplest words in the English language are full of dichotomies, contrasts, hidden meanings, powerful sayings and double meanings. To put it simply: I am! The following quote could not say it any better…proof that you are you and not just a figure of speech. I am Me.

“In all the world, there is no one else exactly like me. Everything that comes out of me is authentically mine, because I alone chose it — I own everything about me: my body, my feelings, my mouth, my voice, all my actions, whether they be to others or myself. I own my fantasies, my dreams, my hopes, my fears. I own my triumphs and successes, all my failures and mistakes. Because I own all of me, I can become intimately acquainted with me. By so doing, I can love me and be friendly with all my parts. I know there are aspects about myself that puzzle me, and other aspects that I do not know — but as long as I am friendly and loving to myself, I can courageously and hopefully look for solutions to the puzzles and ways to find out more about me. However I look and sound, whatever I say and do, and whatever I think and feel at a given moment in time is authentically me. If later some parts of how I looked, sounded, thought, and felt turn out to be unfitting, I can discard that which is unfitting, keep the rest, and invent something new for that which I discarded. I can see, hear, feel, think, say, and do. I have the tools to survive, to be close to others, to be productive, and to make sense and order out of the world of people and things outside of me. I own me, and therefore, I can engineer me. I am me, and I am Okay.” — Virginia Satir

QUOTE:The words “I am” are potent words; be careful what you hitch them to. The thing you’re claiming has a way of reaching back and claiming you. ~A.L. Kitselman

THINGS YOU MAY NOT KNOW:Up to a point a man’s life is shaped by environment, heredity, and movements and changes in the world about him. Then there comes a time when it lies within his grasp to shape the clay of his life into the sort of thing he wishes to be. Only the weak blame parents, their race, their times, lack of good fortune, or the quirks of fate. Everyone has it within his power to say, “This I am today; that I will be tomorrow.” ~Louis L’Amour

THINGS YOU MAY WANT TO SAVE: I am me!

ZENTRAVELER SAYS: I am what I am… therefore I am.

From here to Infinity is a relatively short ride! The next leg takes eons and eons as you fly through the Barycentric Dynamical Time Zone! …and on and on and on.

Follow the Zentraveler Blog often for Travel, Health and Zen-like stories and such. Where else can you get a three in one blog for the price of free?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, I AM, I am me, I am what I am, Practical Zen, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

